This is default featured slide 1 title
This is default featured slide 2 title
This is default featured slide 3 title
This is default featured slide 4 title
This is default featured slide 5 title
 

Contact An Experienced Criminal Attorney When You’ve Been Arrested For A DWI

A Driving While Impaired (DWI) charge in North Carolina is a serious offense. It can remove your freedom and cost thousands of dollars in fines. If a driver fails to consent to a chemical test, their license will be revoked for 30 days to one year or more. A driver can request a hearing in writing to contest the validity. A driver has ten days from the date of the revocation notice to file the request. A driver will also face criminal charges that are separate from the administrative charges through the DMV.

A driver commits the crime of DWI if they operate a vehicle on any street, highway or public vehicular area in the state if they:

• Have any amount of a Schedule I controlled substance or its metabolites in their urine or blood

• Are under the influence of an impairing substance

• Consumed sufficient alcohol that registers a concentration of .08 percent or more after a chemical analysis has been performed

Driving when a license is revoked is considered a new criminal charge. If someone’s on probation for a DWI and drives without a license, it is also considered a violation of their DWI probation. Penalties are even more severe for this type of crime including high fines, jail time and at least one year of additional license revocation. A DWI offense could result in a variety of penalties that include alcohol treatment, jail time, community service and license revocation. Penalties for each additional arrest will become more severe.

One way a driver can reduce the severity of the penalties is by hiring an experienced DWI lawyer to navigate through the complex legal system. There are mitigating factors that could be used to lighten a DWI sentence such as voluntary entry into a substance abuse treatment program after an arrest or proof of 60 days or more of continuous abstinence from alcohol consumption that is shown by an alcohol monitoring system. A DWI lawyer can offer advice for avoiding the harsh impact a conviction can have on a driver’s life. For more information about hiring an experienced DWI attorney in North Carolina, please visit http://www.fanneylaw.com.